Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 17 Jun 2010 19:24:39 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (21 lines)
Hi all. I am new to LACTNET, and am very glad to be a part of this forum. I'd just like to offer my perspective on the potential concerns with the medicalization of breastfeeding and specifically the concerns with an RN background as it relates to lactation consulting and the IBCLC profession. (And just as a little background, I am an RN and a lactation counselor working toward her IBCLC.) A little clarification: Although I know several nursing programs are taught in the medical model, this is not the standard in nursing curriculum. Many nursing programs are holistic in teaching. In the same way that IBCLC's desire to be respected as distinct and stand alone profession, nursing is no different. Nursing is not medicine. Nurses do not practice medicine just as physicians do not practice nursing. Nursing is a distinct profession and although nursing and medicine do parallel at times, they are distinct intities. I know there is much confusion on the similarities and differences. It is quite a common perspective to blend medicine and nursing and see nursing as a subset of medicine. Some nurses do mistakenly practice more in the medical model (cure), rather in the nursing model (care).