Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 27 Nov 2009 21:53:11 +0200
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (41 lines)
I was a midwife in the labor/delivery ward for 14 years - and am now a IBCLC for the past four years - working as the coordinator of breastfeeding at my hospital, meaning getting to Labor and Delivery also...mostly when the midwives ask me if I can give some help...
I have a few of my own beliefs about breastfeeding immediately after delivery.  I feel that skin to skin after birth for the first two hours is SO important -more important than making a big effort to get that baby to breastfeed.. MAINLY because I realize that it helps the diad - mother and baby - to recover from the birth experience, is a Win Win situation that requires no effort , there is nothing to "succeed" in - it is just a "being"  situation that is beautiful for Mom and baby.  And if the baby goes for the breast - great..and if not, or the breast is offered and the baby doesn't GO FOR IT - that's fine.  .I also truly don't like to give "instructions/ advice" during those first two special hours..I know that proper latching is important, but that mother JUST GAVE BIRTH - I could never see myself "instructing her" - maybe a little helping the baby get the nipple farther into the mouth , maybe a word here or there - there is plenty of time to help her when she is in Postpartum ward - those first two   hours after birth seems like a special, quiet , almost holistic time ( having nothing to do with the fact that the baby had a natural or very interventioned ( is there such a word?)  birth, maybe even a C-Section.....I know that babies are "supposed to" "immediately" start breastfeeding beautifully - but I see so many mothers and babies that are SO content just lying there Skin to Skin, relaxing, bonding in their own special way. ( and in the past, before I discovered the beauty  of Skin to Skin ,I remember many frustrated