Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 17 Sep 2003 09:34:24 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (36 lines)
Thus far I haven't seen anything that outlines my kind of practice.

I'm a Public Health Nurse as well as an LC.  That means I tap-dance between the slightly different standards of practice and ethical standards for LC's and for RN's in this province.  A fair number of Ontario LC's are RN's working in hospital or public health or attached to a clinic.  There are also LC's in private practice.

My clients usually have a family physician, but there is a shortage and some do not, especially in the community where I'm located.  The family physician is the gatekeeper to most services that are funded by the provincial health care.  In general the FP sees both mom and baby for all routine care.  Some FP's don't deliver, so Mom see an OB/GYN for late postpartum care and delivery.  (Or if she requests one, has complications or wants a type of delivery not done at our two rural hospitals).  After one postpartum checkup basic care returns to the FP.  The baby might be seen in hospital by a pediatrician, but routine immunization, and checkups is also done by the FP.  Some clinics have a Nurse Practitioner, but this option is not yet widely utilised.  Our rural physicians are really leery of them.

However, all babies (in theory) are referred for public health follow-up by phone and by home visit.  And that's where some of my referrals come from.  If the PHN who took the case feels the mom needs more intense breastfeeding counselling.  The rest come from our baby clinics, where Moms self-refer, or from telephone inquiries.  I might see a mom in clinic, but more likely will arrange a 1:1 visit in the home.  All these are free of charge.