Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 13 Oct 2014 09:59:45 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (31 lines)
Forgot to provide dates:

I finished my Masters in 1985 (when 4-6 months was being debated).

I finished the research for my PhD in 1991, more than a decade before Kramer summarized other's research.  I found my professors at Cornell to be far more thorough in their metaanalyses than Kramer.  Furtheremore, I typically prefer to read the details of the original research not the metaanalyses.  Kay Dewey and Robert Black did quite a bit of research on the timing of supplement introduction.  They grilled the heck out of me about my dissertation results when I presented them because we all recognized how others might misinterpret my results as "yippee, supplementation is good". 

I actually object to the characterization of the WHO "PUSHING" the notion.  My advisor was on the panel that worked on this recommendation. There was zero evidence of harm of waiting to "around" six months to introduce solids.  

I also object to the characterization that a general recommendation of around six months is "drumming into people's head that they should let nothing else other than breast milk pass their baby's lips before the age of six months".  If one reads the Guidelines on the Feeding of Infant and Young Child Feeding there is plenty of room for appropriate modifications based on the individual child.  It is always quite tiresome when people read "recommendations" as "rules" and then blame the "rules" for being rigid with a slew of "in my clinical experience exceptions" when the "rules" don't apply.  Of course a good clinician must adapt for individual case variation.  I for instance, have recommended (gasp!!), pacifiers for infants that were younger than one month because I know the underlying rationale for the recommendation to not use them before one month.