Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 25 Oct 2002 08:40:04 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (25 lines)
        Hello my name is Hope Oster, I am a Junior Nursing Student at the University of North Dakota.  I have been researching the transmission of infectious diseases through breast milk and breastfeeding.  The neonatal nutrition goal for the premature infant is that the infant will achieve weight gain and growth composition that is similar to a normal fetus of the same postconceptional age (Anderson, 2001).  According to my research, human milk with fortifiers is the most favorable nutrition for the preterm infant (Anderson, 2001).  The human milk is supplied to the infant enterally, due to the infant’s inability to suckle (Cahill, 2002).  Taking into consideration the infant’s immature immune system, is it safe for a mother with an infectious disease to breastfeed? I have found that breast milk is very beneficial to infants, however, certain infections can be passed to the infant via breast milk (Lawrence, 1999).  It is very important to educate the infected mother on whether or n
ot breast feeding is contraindicated for her specific illness