Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 22 Feb 2013 16:32:52 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (21 lines)
Nikki mentioned that someone published the "concept" of using pre/post feed weights with nipple shields to monitor milk transfer.  I don't know about elsewhere, but here in Manhattan and much of Brooklyn, the vast majority of solo out of the hospital IBCLC practitioners have been doing that for years.  I've been doing it for eight years.  I wouldn't dream of using a shield without assessing whether the nipple shield improves transfer or not.  In fact, I have seen and posted about differences in milk transfer with the size of the shield.  The most dramatic difference was a baby that took 1 hour to transfer 1 oz with a 16 mm nipple shield and 10 minutes (after the 1 hour) to transfer 2 oz with a 24 mm nipple shield.

In fact, the use of test weighing to assess the pros and cons of nipple shield use in my area, that it didn't even dawn on me that others weren't doing this.  Otherwise, I most certainly would have conducted some sort of a study and published it.  And yes we do know what mothers would be at risk of low milk supply.  Those mother's who have babies who can't transfer an adequate amount of milk even with the shield.