Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 22 Sep 2014 08:29:15 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (21 lines)
In response to Pat Young suggesting that pre and post feeding weights are scary for moms, I have to heartily disagree that this is the case when these are used as an appropriate educational and verification tool.  

There have been many tools that I was uncertain or intimidated about using when I was a trainee - such as Haberman bottles, Supplemental Nursing Systems and nipple shields.  You can find individuals who are against using any one of those tools based on experiences when they have been MISused rather than used appropriately.  I've seen many clients who come out of the hospital with 16 mm nipple shields crammed over normal sized nipples with a baby with a perfectly normal sized mouth and the mom was told she had "flat nipples".  By the time I see her, the edema and engorgement have subsized and the nipples look perfectly normal and the baby latches just fine without the shield.  And.... sometimes these cases lead to underfeeding and suppression of the milk supply due to poor milk transfer. I could go on about the misuses of other devices as well. Yet, there are times when each of these tools are very helpful.