Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 24 Jun 2014 09:41:04 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (1 lines)
My personal OPINION which I try to base on as much evidence as is available, is that a natural precursor of an extracted supplement should be superior to the supplement unless one has some type of barrier to appropriate breakdown and absorption.  Think caffeine.  Which is better - a caffeine pill or a cup of coffee?   I believe research has shown that there is more to a cup of coffee than just caffeine.   Now, I'm not extolling the virtues of coffee, mind you, I’m just saying there is MORE to coffee.   IN the same way, I'm not a proponent of dehydrated fruits and vegetables in a capsule - eat the real thing!  There are reports of hypervitaminosis in children this morning from too much vitamin a and c in breakfast cereals.   I noted that goat's rue is possibly a precursor to metformin - no wonder it helps with women with insulin resistance and other blood sugar issues.   Herbs should be considered as REAL medicine and I think the term "alternative" medicine should be discarded.   When it comes to measuring results from herbs,  one needs to consider what pathway is involved in milk production.  There is more than just prolactin involved.  When you only measure prolactin response as your indicator of effectiveness of an herb, when your protocol does not control for type of pump, length of pumping, frequency of pumping OR breastfeeding efficiency (which can be highly subjective), how can you declare a particular herb as not useful?   I HAVE found herbs and combinations of herbs VERY effective in my 28 years of practice.  But that's anecdotal.     

-----Original Message-----

From: Lactation Information and Discussion [mailto:[log in to unmask]] On Behalf Of Jennifer Tow, IBCLC

Sent: Saturday, June 21, 2014 12:38 PM

Subject: Re: combining herbs