Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 7 Jul 2011 23:06:51 +0100
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (59 lines)
Hi all,

I'm new to lactnet but am working with Morgan Gallagher of Nursing Matters to try to help a mother who has been struggling in hospital with her pre-term baby.  I have limited access to her due to distance/transport but we are working to try to put together an advocacy statement with regards to breastfeeding and co-sleeping to try to support her.   I'm a breastfeeding mother but don't have any official training so any help and advice on the issues here would be really appreciated.

I've put together an outline of the situation which she has been able to read, but its obviously not exhaustive, and she only has access to it via her phone, so she is not able to easily work on it herself.

Carys was born on 1 June at 34 weeks.  Claire has had a struggle with jaundice and other things normal for a premature baby, and she's exhausted from having been in hospital (or travelling in and out) for 5 weeks.

Staff at the hospital have, along the way, expressed concern about a few things, but it seems that rather than trying to help, they have escalated their concerns and have brought in child protection and social services, and are saying she can't take Carys home with her.  Out of nowhere they are also expressing concern about the well-being of Isabel and Sian.

As you can understand, Claire is emotional and very, very tired but she's been trying to keep up with what the medical staff have been expressing concern about.

The main items seem to be:

- her tandem feeding Sian (who is 2.5) (they seem to think this has somehow affected breastfeeding Carys, with suggestions that she express before a feed as she is apparently making too much foremilk.  However, she has not been able to nurse Sian much at all while being in hospital)