Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 2 Apr 2010 19:49:38 -0600
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (21 lines)
Greetings,
I will try to make this short.We are preparing to implement our last of the new Breastfeeding Guidelines at our Hospital, "Supplement only when medically indicated".  I have been tracking our rates for about 3 years with chart audits. It was easy to get supplementation out of the delivery area....no evidence for it! For about 21/2 years we have had NO supplementation in L&D unless medically indicated. About 2 instances per audit all with medical need documented, usually low BS...like really low...12 or 15 and usually a late preterm.
On our Mother Baby Unit we have about a 50% supplementation rate on average with very little documentation. Our goal is to reduce this to 20% with 100% documentation. This goal was based on the Kusuma(2009) article in JHL that stated that the incidence of Near Term Wt  10% loss was 18% and it was a figure I picked out of my head as being reasonable for a first goal. We will have some infants that need supplementation. What number that is we will only know when we do this for a while.

To implement this we have a comprehensive program starting with prenatal parent education....prenatal classes and handouts in the MD offices and on the MB unit. In all fairness to the nurses, who in our unit do a pretty darn good job of trying not to supplement and to support breastfeedin, are pressured by the mothers/families to give supplements. I will ever remember a situation in the nursery. A grandmother called asking for a bottle for her breastfed grandchild. The nurse very nicely stated that she would come out to help the mom with breastfeeding and the gm shouted, "Just bring the damn bottle!!"