Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 24 May 2005 13:53:41 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (1 lines)
Barbara, Jennifer and others,
I agree with much that you have to say about the field of lactation consulting.  But a few points:
1, With the baby with the broken clavicle--where was the doctor's role in all of this?  The pedi is responsible for a complete physical on  admission--soon after birth--and at discharge--a few days later. S/He should have picked it up. I am well aware that there are some pedis who do both exams at once--that's for another discussion.
2. A hospital-based LC is not required to do a physical exam other that what is necessary for her role.  I might pick up a broken clavicle, but I am a NICU nurse and I am more aware of the baby than others might be.  A hospital-based LC usually doesn't have the luxury of doing more than is required of her role, due to cuts in staffing and budget.  In private practice, you can take the time you need to do whatever you see fit.  You are one to one.  FYI, I am not paid past my shift and I am no longer giving free work to a corporation that has cost containment as its bottom line.  I have done both types of LC work and I find that they are not one bit like each other.