Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sat, 2 Mar 2013 17:01:09 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (61 lines)
Heather Hamilton writes:

I number of years ago, I attended the wonderful CLC certification course with Healthy Children's Center for Breastfeeding. This extremely interesting course was inspiring! I became certain that I wanted to become an IBCLC and I spent about two years trying to figure out the best "Route to Certification" for me. Unfortunatley, I am not a health professional, so I considered returning to nursing school. I also considered the other routes to become an IBCLC. Ultimately, I had to let go of this dream. The road was too long. I am a single parent of a 3 year-old and, realistically, I don't have the resources to complete all of the required coursework. 
My question now is: How can I offer help to mothers? I realize that a breastfeeding mother needs an IBCLC (and in some cases an RN/IBCLC) to provide advice in and out of the hospital setting. But surely there is a place for someone like me who wants to help mothers whose situation is not complex but who may be struggling with breastfeeding. 

I looked into becoming a Peer Counselor with WIC, but I do not qualify. Here in Texas, you have to have used WIC services in order to become a peer counselor. Another option for me might be to become a Leader with La Leche League. 

I would love to hear some advice on how I might move forward. Are there any other venues for me. I don't want to let this dream go even though becoming an IBCLC is out-of-reach for me.

To which Nikki Lee responded:

One does not need the IBLCE-credential to help mothers.  Many famous
breastfeeding experts have no lactation credential. (Think of Suzanne
Colson, Kittie Frantz, Chloe Fisher, and Jack Newman.) In the US, there are
plenty of CLCs in doctor's offices, in WIC offices, and other places.

Anyone can help a mother with breastfeeding. The degree of help needed