Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 30 Jul 2000 23:26:22 -0800
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (38 lines)
Hello Everyone,

My name is Jamie Stouffer - I am the mother of 2 children (10 and 2.)  I have practiced as a midwife for the past 5 years although in the province I live in I can no longer legally call myself a midwife.  We have gone through a legalization process and I have opted not to do the assessment and upgrading program at this time.  I am continuing to attend women as a professional birth assistant and counsellor.  I am also studying homeopathy and hope within 3-4 years to be ready to begin practicing on people outside my own family and circle.

I have had contact with a woman (a client of my friend) who is having much difficulty breast feeding.  This is her first baby. She has severely inverted nipples and large breasts.  Her baby (born after a basically normal birth with no forceps/vaccum but longish pushing stage with a nurse who manipulated the head some) has a tiny little mouth.  He is coming 3 weeks now and has yet to really nurse.  She has had him at the breast from the beginning - and continues to try him many times daily.  He has latched on a couple times - but sucks 3-4 times and then simply hangs there.  She is pumping and feeding him primarily with breastmilk although last time I was talking to her she was thinking about supplementing because he seems to be hungry all the time.  He is gaining weight and has 10 - 12 wet diapers daily.

What we are doing / have done:
We have recommended that she keep him close to her - carry him in the sling etc.
We have recommended that she try nursing him every time he seems interested and/or several times a day.
We have recommended that she use the pump to pull her nipples out before she nurses (has done this - they last a few mins and he usually misses it)