Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 3 Oct 2000 08:55:12 -0800
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (27 lines)
I am responding to Patricia's comments about how difficult it is to work with some hospital nursing staff.

I am a nurse and LC at a hospital in Anchorage, AK.  I was the first LC the hospital had ever hired....and many of the nurses were colleagues I had worked with on the floor.  When I first started making rounds it was as if someone had thrown a bucket of ice water in my face...I was so shocked at how much they resented the whole job description.  Sabotage, back biting, the list was endless.  But why?

I found that each nurse was bringing her own past breastfeeding experiences into her nursing interventions with the patients...and there's a lot of anger there.  That anger was being thrown at me as an LC.  Through multiple staff meetings and one on ones I got the word out that each nurse needs to shake the personal baggage when assisting new moms.  By making BF instruction just another skill I was able to get the personal aspect out and the nursing action back in.  Our manager has now added it to the list of skills they must check-off on when they go through orientation.

This "personal anger" is the culprit.  To this day when I introduce myself as the LC to an administrator or physician they routinely end up sharing some personal story about how they fed their children and how they feel about BF.  I just try to let them talk it out.