Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 16 Feb 2006 23:34:25 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (48 lines)
Re: << Hello, my name is Tiffany Baker and I am a nursing student at the University of North Dakota. I have recently had my OB clinical and was fortunate enough to see the delivery of twins! As I was watching, however, I was wondering what she was going to do about breastfeeding. I have learned much about teaching a parent of a singleton to breastfeed, however, I have never had to deal with multiples. >>

Hi, Tiffany. I have probably worked with 100s of mothers of twins (MOT) and a number of mothers of higher-order multiples (MOM) who BF their babies as well as BF my own MZ sons long ago. As a RN your role is to look at/assess BF in context to the mother as an individual, each baby as an individual and the dynamic interaction of the mother-babies together. Although multiples arrive together, their level of maturity and ability to BF initially can be quite different. So, first, each multiple's BF should be assessed -- separately.  Multiples are often born prior to full term and/or are SGA and that often affects early BF. Mothers are more likely to experience pregnancy or peripartum complications with multiples, which also affect early BF. 

If mother is healthy and babies are term and healthy, each multiple should be able to fully BF -- and each should be viewed as an individual re: assessment at breast, BF outcomes, etc.

<< I did some research to back up my knowledge acquired at UND. I was interested in the importance of early breastfeeding. Riordan, Gill-Hopple,