Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 3 Sep 2018 15:29:28 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (34 lines)
Hi wise ones!
 I think this is my first time posting here and I have PTP. 

Just visited 2nd time mum, fed 15 months 1st baby. Current baby 37 weeks, BW 7lbs exactly, day 3, traumatic delivery  (sounds like rotational forceps in theatre; first baby same but progressed to section). Baby initially ‘latched and fed fairly well’. Mum keen to come home for sibling (aged 6) so home day 2. Mum has Hb83 and managed to persuade them not to transfuse. As you might expect baby has become jaundiced (no blood test yet as midwife happy not outside parameters today) and is very sleepy last night and today. Usual tactics were employed to get him awake to feed but surprise surprise they don’t work! Mum had been hand expressing and giving drops of colostrum by syringe. Midwife visited today and declared she’d weigh him tomorrow and threatened admission if not doing better. So...I visited this evening, observed a sleepy baby who would latch and feed but not persevering. Reasonable tone but perhaps a little floppy in the arms. Nappies today have been less wet, ?evidence of urates (seen by midwife.) No BO today, yesterday was still mec black. 

I would appreciate feedback on the appropriateness of my actions and plan, so here it is:

1. Having observed feeding attempt with baby cross cradle and persuaded to latch, I initiated laid back position and baby demonstrated expected behaviour (bobbing, licking and self latched with minimal guidance) and it was actually his better attempt but not adequate. 
2. Got mum hand expressing and she got about 2tsps colostrum in total onto a spoon which baby took well. The consistency was thinning. 

So my plan for next 12 hours or so overnight: