Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 1 Oct 2003 13:21:40 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (32 lines)
My name is Alicia Claesson, and I am a nursing student at the University of North Dakota. As I was researching breast feeding after the return to work, I came upon the disappointing evidence that with the mother’s return to work, also comes an end to the preferred choice of infant nutrition, breastfeeding. Exclusive breastfeeding for six months and beast feeding with complementary foods for at least 12 months is the ideal feeding pattern for infants (Dobson & Murtaugh, 2001). I am amazed but determined to understand why this is, and to find ways to improve this statistic. Wyatt (2002) states that the decision to stop breastfeeding after returning to work is due in part to lack of prenatal education and preparation. Also, breastfeeding mothers must go up against the cultural acceptance of bottle feeding, non-supportive work environments, and role overload. With this information, I decided that education is of utmost importance in this situation. Advice about education on brea