Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 3 Oct 2003 07:39:51 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (99 lines)
Lactnet friends,

Remember as I post this, that my experience has only been with births in the USA or abroad at a US hospital.  And I don't presume to speak for all births in hospitals in the USA.  Only those I have been privileged to attend.  At the risk of sounding like an interfering nurse (I am a Labor and Delivery nurse for 23 years in the USA and American hospitals in Germany) I usually do the following.  No matter if the mom is C/section, natural, epidural, stadol etc, I usually offer to show the new couplet how to accomplish side lying nursing for their first session.  Although there are some couplets who say no when I offer, ( they can only imagine sitting up to nurse or in a rocking chair  because thats all they have seen up till now in books, TV) I let them know that in my experience, side lying initially provides many positive things:

1.  Less stress and potential for swelling on new mother's bottom after delivery.

2.  In side lying position the nurse is able to assess vaginal bleeding easily and less obtrusively during recovery period.  When a patient sits up to nurse after delivery the blood often will pool in the vagina and be unable to drain well thereby setting up risk of less clamp down of uterus while nursing.

3.  Less manipulation of the new infant.

4.  Infant is able to get most or all of the clear signals it needs to know to understand what process is about to happen.

5.  It gives the new family permission to try a new position and to open up discussion about the baby in the bed with her and getting rest for the first couple of weeks.  I talk to them about side lying curled around the baby  and while they are in the hospital placing a pillow jammed between the side rail and the mattress like a bumper pad.  I emphasize "jamming" the pillow so it doesn't fall on or behind the baby.