Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 22 Jul 2015 10:26:50 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (32 lines)
I am a Licensed Midwife and an IBCLC.  I am working with a mom who had been planning a homebirth with me and ended up with a c/s 4 weeks ago for non-reassuring NST and BPP with very low AFI.  Baby was healthy and well at delivery.  Mom tolerated surgery well.  She established breastfeeding in hospital very well.  Birthweight was 8#10oz.  She was discharged on Day 4 with a weight of 9#1oz?  I saw her the next day and got a weight of 9#0oz.  

Starting on Day 5 to this day (Day 29), she has complained of nipple pain and discomfort, inability to empty breast.  The baby had a tongue tie released at Day 8.  The mom suffered an allergic reaction to the steri-strips resulting in ulcerated lesions.  She has had postpartum PUPPPs, for which she took 48 hours of full dose Benadryl.  She has used nipple shields and hasn't used nipple shields.  On Day 23, the baby was 9#5oz.  She reported he wanted to feed all the time.  I suggested 10 minutes per breast.  10 minutes pumping both breasts.  And dad giving supplemented pumped milk while mom pumped.  This was unsuccessful for her, and she was unwilling to continue past one or two feeds. 

She has made a couple trips to my office for LC help with latching and assessment.  I'm confident the latch is great at the office.  

She is currently 8 hrs away from me on vacation, but 2 days ago complained of pain on letdown and an inability to evacuate milk from breast except by hand in the shower.  I rec'd she see an urgent care doc who Dx mastitis and Rx'd abx (yesterday).  She is now in bed with sore throat, fever, chills, and exhaustion.  Unable to get adequate letdown, except in shower with warm water.  Baby still wants to feed all the time.  Breasts still feel full after he feeds.