Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 25 Oct 2012 07:45:48 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (23 lines)
Erika asks whether the insurance companies reimburse nonRNs.  I have offered insurance forms to my clients even when I was a trainee under supervision of my mentors.  I know CLCs and doulas (actually some with the combo) who were able to get reinsurance reimbursement.  I provide a superbill with CPT codes and ICD-9 codes.  In the last month or two I've actually had insurance companies taking more measures to actually reimburse their clients, especially the company that always overlooks what is already on the forms.  In fact, one of the agents actually commented on how great it was that they were reimbursing for breastfeeding assistance and how great it will be when it expands. 

So, YES, here in New York City I at least am seeing the impact of the Affordable Care Act improving a) my clients ability to seek breastfeeding services and b) my ability as a small business owner to retain health insurance for "pre-existing conditions" even if my husband or I should ever have a lapse in our insurance.  The latter, as a small woman-owned business owner is crucial for survival should either of us have a period of time when we cannot afford health insurance we have enough preexisting conditions that we would be doomed should we have a lapse in our ability to pay for health insurance.