Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 23 Mar 2008 05:15:18 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (120 lines)
Kate, you and your family are in my thoughts and prayers this Easter.
  Julie

"Kate Cropp WHNP, IBCLC, MSN" <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
  Fellow Lactnetters, I feel the need to share with you as I network around the country at 
conferences and here on Lactnet as well.

Unfortunately, I have bad news. Our baby died on Monday (3-17-08), still in my womb. I 
knew it in my soul before they could tell us. My little one wasn’t moving, and I couldn’t 
find a heat beat on my personal fetal Doppler (I am an OG/GYN nurse practitioner and 
IBCLC).

Against everything we would choose for a live birth, we chose to be induced and we 
delivered at the large university hospital where I work. We had only 4 weeks till the 
“guess date”. 

The experience was am amazing and terrifying experience, but we're glad that we finally 
got to meet our "little dude #2". The nurse-midwives at the hospital were awesome, as 
was the staff. I was terrified to deliver in a hospital, let alone on the units where I work; 
but it all worked out so amazingly well.

My labor was only felt in the lowest segment of my uterus- it wasn’t pleasant; it is 
supposed to move up to the top of the uterus. There was little to no amniotic fluid and my 
baby had his hand coming out before his head. So the pressure waves were pressing on 
the hardest baby parts- pushing them against my bowels and lowest part of my pelvic 
bones. Luckily, it wasn’t back labor! The belly lift technique helped a bit, but a tub of 
water would have been perfect! I was able to use the shower, and I wasn’t monitored 
much at all.

We had a doula with us, God bless her, for two days during the induction. She was able to 
help me go deeper as often as I needed. My brain was so fried after 3 days of physical