Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 22 Aug 2001 05:46:03 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (19 lines)
Had to finally jump in here on this one as I have been teaching childbirth and/or breastfeeding classes for almost 20 years now.  To say that any kind of teaching is ultimately harmful is really throwing the baby out with the bathwater, in my opinion.  The Bradley classes that I took were instrumental in changing my whole attitude about my body and the birth of my baby.  They gave me the courage to buck the military and get the kind of birth that I wanted, with a private "hippie" doctor in a very small country hospital.  When I taught CB classes, I always made personal empowerment a big part of what we were talking about.  I would probably do them a lot differently now in other ways, but I think that even then, they were of great value to some of the couples and of moderate value to others.  When the hospital nurses took over the classes, they changed substantially and did do little except perpetuate the medical establishment line.  But there are still some Bradley instructors around, and others, who I think are doing whatever they can to try to turn the tide.

My breastfeeding classes are also about being honest with the couples about what is going to happen to them in the hospital and how it can affect their breastfeeding experience, if they let it.  I talk to them about the frequent difference in babies behavior depending on the birth experience.  I constantly remind them throughout the class that the most important thing for them to remember to do is simply to put the baby to breast whenever and wherever possible - they definitely know that 8-12 is the minimum.  What they do with the information is up to them.  I see a lot of light bulbs going off during class and I know that most of them are not hearing this stuff anywhere else.