Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 4 Apr 2006 17:08:19 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (49 lines)
My opinion on nipple shield use is very similar to Linda's.  I worked in a hospital till recently for almost 9 years, and when I first got there my ideas about the nipple shield were very similar to Mary's.  Probably because when I started in the field  there was a big taboo about nipple shield use.  I would never ever considered using the shield at all.  My opinions changed when my  partner asked me what did I prefer...either that the mother leave breastpumping or breastfeeding.  Oviously, my goal was to have as many mothers as possible leave the hospital with a baby at the breast...shield or not.

I do not use the shield on the first jump (though it has been commented that I do pass them out like candy...which I dont) ha,ha,ha.  The only time I do not hesitate to use them right away is when the mother is already bottle feeding.  Otherwise, I usually try the sandwich hold first.  If it doesnt work, then I show the mother how to hand express onto a teaspoon and then feed it to the baby (mothers tend to get discourage when they see only droplets on a breastshield).   I neither of these work, then I would consider the use of a nipple shield.  

In conjunction with the nipple shield, I do weight testing (though I dont do it with 1-3 day olds).  Many times, specially with babies with sucking problems or with prematures, I see a better milk transfer.  Of course, I tell the mother the use of nipple shield is temporary, and suggest that she tries BF without it after using it for 3 days.  Most of them have been weaned from the shield by the follow up.  

Last, I dont know about others experience with the nipple shield, but I do not use or recommend the REG. size nipple shield, since with them I did noticed a poor milk transfer.  Is like putting a cork in the baby's mouth!!!