Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 9 Jun 2002 23:39:54 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (29 lines)
Hi Everyone,

After following on and  off for a few months (and lately set to no-mail) I'm desperate for some leads for my patient.  Here's my brief intro: I'm a breastfeeding consultant of over 9 years working on my certification ---hopefully writing the exam this July, if they let me!!  I work one-to-one with mom's in the Toronto community and refer back to Jack Newman for advice.  I also work with Dr. Newman 3 days a week in his clinics (but technically I'm a volunteer).

Here's the problem:  I have a 41 yr-old multipara who successfully breastfed first 2.  She subsequently had a mastopexy (periareolar incision) with a NIPPLE REDUCTION---not a common procedure.  Mom unexpectedly became pregnant and is desperately wanting to breastfeed.   Baby is now 8 days old.  Mom has been engorged (which we are treating) but there is only slight milk transfer in one duct in each nipple at its base.

Mom is determined and will undergo any procedure and will travel anywhere---money is not an issue---to resolve this problem.  After consultation with her plastic surgeon, we have determined that what is required is a re-canalizatuion of the ducts (the reduction involved slicing the top portion of the nipple off, so that scar tissue has now formed over top) and a way to keep them from scarring over again.  To all of our knowledge and research, this has never been attempted.

Has anyone heard of any procedure of this nature?  Could anyone refer us to a surgeon who might be interested in getting innovative?