Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sat, 8 Jun 2013 10:54:45 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (20 lines)
I’ve been keeping bees for almost 40 years now.  Nothing big. Never more than 50 hives.  One of the first things I wanted to learn about bees is what they made their honey from.   I learned that I lived in a region known as the tulip poplar region.  So named because that was the largest source of nectar in my area.  That would be Southern Maryland (St. Mary’s County).  It was by this tree that I made sure my honey supers were in place.  I also learned that black locust was also a big producer.  And it bloomed before the tulip poplar.  After the tulip poplar there was the American holly tree.   The tulip poplar and the American holly were in my own yard.  The several black locust trees were just up the road.  I watched these trees with great anticipation that I would get a good honey crop.    

One year I noticed that I did not get any tulip poplar honey.  How did I know that?  Tulip poplar honey is a dark honey, but it is mild tasting.  We didn’t have any other dark honey that amounted to much.  Then came all the questions.  Was there enough moisture in the soil?  Was it too cold or too windy for the bees to fly?  Was there some other flowering plant that was producing more nectar or nectar with more sugar content?  Each year there were new questions to answer.  I only had about three weeks to look and see if there were bees working these trees.  After the honey flow someone would ask another question like; “Did you look early in the morning?”  Then I would have to wait another year to answer the question.  I have ruled out all the questions I have been asked.