Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 9 Aug 2011 13:37:10 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (16 lines)
I am fairly new to Lacnet, and am currently an intern scheduled to take the exam in 2012.  I am so grateful to see all the comments and concerns about the new IBCLC requirements.  My background is as a Child & Family Therapist for many years, followed by over 20 years working in an outpatient clinic at a local hospital as a social worker with low income pregnant and parenting women.  For those of you familiar, it was a Maternity Support Services and WIC Clinic.  The last two years at the clinic I was trained to do WIC, as the funding for MSS was dropping and the WIC need was rising.  For WIC, I received some breastfeeding training, and found my new passion.  I'm 62 and have worked with Habitat for Humanity in other countries.  In thinking about my retirement, and finding a passion for helping moms with breastfeeding, I began a mentoring program with the hope that I would be working with low income breastfeeding mothers here and particularly abroad in developing countries.