Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 5 Sep 2007 20:38:45 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (25 lines)
Hello,

This is my first time to post. I have permission to ask for suggestions for a mom I am working with. 

Mom is 9 weeks postpartum from a spontaneous vaginal birth at our free standing birth center. She had some intial nipple soreness improved with positioning assistance. Then was diagnosed with postpartum depression at 3 1/2 weeks and prescribed Zoloft. She was having pretty severe anxiety and couldn't sleep and elected to pump and have Dad give bottle for 3 days (she didn't trust herself to hold or nurse baby during that time because of her own crying jags). She had pretty good resolution of her depression in about a week with the meds and counseling, and returned to regular breastfeeding, feeling good about baby's good health and weight gain. But 2 weeks later at her 6 week postpartum visit she complained about a right breast golf ball sized lump that had been there for several weeks. She was afebrile, breast was not red, swollen, or streaked. Both the nurse practitioner and one of the midwives felt it was a plugged duct. So she was sent home with good instructions and to call for any changes.