Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 1 Sep 2004 12:46:10 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (40 lines)
I have been reluctant to post, partly because this is my first time and partly because I feel like I should be able to figure this out. Yet this mother needs a solution, so here goes...

I'm seeing this as a latch problem, with a compicating factor of mom having been sexually abused as a child.  She desperately wants to breastfeed (having educated herself on how important it is for the child), and realizes that though she has done a lot of emotional healing, there is a lot of difficulty in having a baby at the breast.  Though there have been maybe 3 times in 2 1/2 months that she has achieved a good latch (one that she "can't feel"), all other attempts are either just emotionally bearable (early in the a.m. when her breasts are more full - does that make any sense?!) or not at all, due to too much nipple stimulation (which really shouldn't be happening anyway with a proper latch...).  Double pumping has been workable for her, and baby has gained 4.5 pounds in his 2.5 months of life (BW 9lb 9oz).

Mom has large, yet not flacid, breasts with areolar tissue that is non-distictive and small, everted nipples.  Baby's oral structures appear to be in the normal range with good grooving of tongue and slight protrusion over bottom gum.  He goes to breast eagerly with relatively open mouth (maybe 90 degree angle), but after a few suckles mom takes him off and nipple is creased in the middle and flattened along the length of the bottom. He tends to suck in his top lip (it is very difficult to pull out). She sometimes has a crease on the areola near the nipple base where baby's lower gum has clenched.