Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 4 Mar 2003 22:03:57 +0100
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (27 lines)
Dear Lactnetters,

I have been just lurking so far, but now I have a case I would like to ask your advice on. 
But first of all let me briefly introduce myself. I am a psychologist. I recently applied for LLL Leadership and also would like to take the IBCLC exam. I am a happy mother of three kids, two of them tandem nursing. I mainly do counseling via internet, e-mail and telephone.

I posting this with the mother's permission. The mother is a primipara, the child was born full term with 4 kgs.
Ever since birth in every 2 weeks they had a couple of days when mother's milk supply seemed to decrease greatly from one feed to the other. The baby became fussy as well. They survived these days with very frequent nursings occasionally giving baby previously pumped and frozen EBM with a spoon. But this returned in every two weeks. She didn't mention any nipple pain. The baby was a slow gainer, average gain being 100 gr per week, but the mom says she was also petite as a child. The mom weighed nursings at this time, and about 800-1000 gr milk was consumed by the baby per day. Every now and then the baby went through a nursing strike as well crying at the breast or only wanting to accept one of the breasts (sometimes the right, sometimes the left one). But they somehow managed through all these.