Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 16 Jul 2000 22:53:11 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (19 lines)
My name is Patricia Ellis, RN,MA,IBCLC.  I am a lactation consultant at a large New Jersey hospital with the largest maternity unit in the state. I also operate a private lactation practice, The Mother and Child Reunion. This is my first posting to Lactnet.

In reply to...
Date:    Sun, 16 Jul 2000 20:30:53 -0700
Subject: Who should prescribe for Mom?

I usually suggest that the mom with possible thrush contact either her pediatrician or obstetrician and tell her that both she and the baby need to be treated.  I have recently had a case where a pediatrician diagnosed thrush in the baby--white patches in the mouth and all--but said nothing to the mother about her need for treatment.  She actually found out through her mother's friends at work!  After contacting me, I advised her to call her obstetrician, who made the recommendation that any med she could give would necessitate weaning, and then commented that since the mom was having such nipple pain, maybe she should stop breastfeeding! (the baby is one month).  We spoke again and she called the OB back, who then reluctantly prescribed an appropriate med.