Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sat, 1 Mar 2003 16:56:59 -0600
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (33 lines)
*breastfeeding after breast surgery

Hi. My name is Charla and I'm a junior nursing student at UND. I've always supported breastfeeding and have often wondered how breast surgery, breast reduction and breast augmentation affects a women's ability to successfully breastfeed. Most of the literature I found on this topic was from the early 1990's, with the most recent being from 1999.
        The information that I found was consistent regarding both breast reduction and breast augmentation. It supported the idea that minimal disruption of lactiferous ducts and innervation is essential for preserving the potential for future lactation (Hughes, & Owen, 1993). Studies have shown that women who have undergone breast augmentation have higher success rates when compared to those who've had a reduction.  Hughes & Owen (1993) conducted an interview with 51 women who had breast reduction or augmentation done.  The results showed that of the 23 women who underwent reduction, only 30% were successful in breastfeeding as long as they wanted, as compared to 62% of those who had augmentation. This is believed to be due to the location of the incision. As Mohrbacher, et. al. (1997) stated, if the mother's incisions are in the folds under the breast or near the armpits, the implants were most likely inserted behind the milk ducts, leaving them undisturbed. Generally spe
aking, if the milk ducts and major nerves have not been cut, there should be no complication or difficulties with breastfeeding. If the women's incisions are around the areola, it's likely that some of the milk ducts have been severed, thus leaving the women with a 5 times higher likelihood of having lactation insufficiency (Hughes & Owen, 1993).