Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 31 Jan 2013 18:46:34 +1100
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (132 lines)
Hi all
I am relatively new in private LC practice and saw a mother today who has a 4 month old baby who is suddenly refusing the breast. I would be grateful of any ideas to suggest as I hope I'm not missing something. She has given me permission to post. 
Uneventful post-natal period up until about 2 weeks ago. Was breastfeeding very well from birth for 16 weeks.  First child (now 2) fed for 8 days due to "attachment problems".  Suffered post-natal depression after birth of first baby (now resolved after counselling & support groups); she says she feels fine now. 
Present baby now stopped breastfeeding from both breasts when he was ill with a high fever for 2 days, followed by appearance of a rash. Was hospitalised and found to be dehydrated and received IV fluids. Mother started expressing with hand pump while staying with baby in hospital and feeding EBM in a bottle. Baby then discharged and doctor says fever and rash caused by "a virus". Over this time of illness, nappy count had reduced. Now having adequate urine output again and apparently rehydrated. However, bowel movements pattern has changed; not loose & yellow anymore, but between yellow & brown, sometimes green and "smell disgusting". Baby gets some wind and draws legs up as if in discomfort. GP has ordered stool samples, awaiting results. Also waiting on results from stool samples taken whilst in hospital. After a feed (of expressed breastmilk), is relatively content. Weight gains and other measurements good.  (First child diagnosed with severe reflux & cows milk protein intolerance and was started on Neocate formula from early weeks).