Informal Science Education Network <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 8 Oct 2013 05:21:59 +0000
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (74 lines)
ISEN-ASTC-L is a service of the Association of Science-Technology Centers
Incorporated, a worldwide network of science museums and related institutions.

So when can we hear sample of the Shutdown Shuffle?
Becky Menlove
Associate Director for Visitor Experience

NATURAL HISTORY MUSEUM OF UTAH  |  Rio Tinto Center  |  University of Utah

301 Wakara Way, Salt Lake City, UT 84108  |  www.nhmu.utah.edu
801 585 1073 office  |  [log in to unmask]

Sent: Monday, October 07, 2013 3:24 PM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: Re: Government Shutdown. What Me Worry? Yes, we should!

ISEN-ASTC-L is a service of the Association of Science-Technology Centers
Incorporated, a worldwide network of science museums and related institutions.

- My husband works as a senior research scientist at the USDA (I have been a scientist at Lawrence Labs w/ DOE funding) and has a large lab with 25-30 employees at Cornell University.  He works with the Gates Foundation, the FAO and World Health Org. to use the natural diversity in crop plants to increase food security and sustainability.  There are several hundred thousand dollars worth of experiments in the form of corn plants that need to be harvested  in a relatively narrow time frame, which is NOW.  Unfortunately, none of the USDA employees are allowed in the fields, and with the current rains, the prospect of the research material being entirely rotted by the time Congress figures things out is very plausible.