Informal Science Education Network <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 23 Oct 2008 13:34:26 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (65 lines)
ISEN-ASTC-L is a service of the Association of Science-Technology Centers
Incorporated, a worldwide network of science museums and related institutions.

Hi 

I'm new to the ASTC list serve but thought I'd give you my two cents on this subject. I've 
been immersed in the LEED process as I study for the Accredited Professional Exam and 
have perspective shaped by my architecture background.

On a basic Level LEED is a way to quantifiably measure a building's performance in 
relation to the criteria set out by the USGBC. Buildings are LEED certified but not 
products, materials or people. This is not to say LEED has no bearing on exhibits. There 
are ways that exhibits can contribute towards points and the credit intents are a great 
way to inform a sustainable strategy for exhibits. 

One thing that often gets confused is that materials can contribute towards a credit but 
they are not in and of themselves certified. This might seem nit picky but it actually 
brings up an important aspect of LEED. The system evaluates the entire project based on 
a set of criteria that is a bit complex and often times contradictory. This complexity 
within their system is necessary and good.

As soon as you try to say something like "plyboo is a green material" things get 
complicated. It is a rapidly renewable resource but it also comes from China so it 
requires a great deal of energy to ship. At almost every turn you can find more questions 
than answers when trying to find something that is unequivocally "green". Instead of 
focusing on absolutes, LEED established a clear intent for each credit and then the sum of 
the credits gives an indication of the overall performance with regard to the environment. 
For instance LEED has a credit for using rapidly renewable resources for 2.5% of all the