Sun, 17 Aug 1997 11:45:43 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (119 lines)
Bill Lipe makes the following three points in support of ROPA:
1. sufficent problems exist in the field to warrant SOPA's existence, and its
transformation into ROPA--just talk with SOPA's past grievance coordinators;
2. high, nationally applied standards will help compliance archaeologists justif
y the
costs of conducting individual projects; and
3. SOPA's existence already has influenced the creation of higher ethical and,
presumably, technical standards.
I address each of these points.

First, as a scientist, I value anecdotal data; but I prefer hard numbers. As per
 my
original posting of 15 August, I still want to know how widespread the problem o
f
unethical behaviour has become and its effects on public attitudes and the gener
al
prosecution of compliance archaeology. Surely SOPA has compiled some sort of dat
a to
justify the time, money, and effort devoted to the development and enforcement o
f
ethical standards.

While the ability to point to an ethical code to justify a certain level of
archaeological study might be convenient, I think there are more effective, less

abstract means at hand. Specifically, standards and guidelines promulgated by th
e
National Park Service and SHPOs across the country. Representatives of lead agen
cies in
the review process are familiar with the archaeology of their jurisdictions and
can make
a very good case, backed by hard data, for a particular level of study in connec
tion
with a project. Reviewers also can, and do, reject reports that describe levels
of
effort inadequate to meet the terms of state and federal laws and regulations. I
f the
problems remain unaddressed, the contractor may lose all or part of the contract
 price.
Moreover, clients who experience undue delays or frustrations arising from the
incompetence or unethical behavior of their contractors are unlikely to engage t
hose