Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 8 Nov 2013 18:15:01 +0000
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (23 lines)
 Mike Rowbottom  wrote:<It seems to me that what matters, if you want to make comparisons with others, is how the average is defined.  I use the number of colonies going into the previous winter to use with the subsequent year's honey crop.>

As a beekeeping tutor, I am regularly asked how much honey a new beekeeper can expect to get when considering whether to invest in equipment.  If the investment comes from the pension lump sum or redundancy money it is essential decisions are made on a sound basis.  So far this thread has been disappointing as it has largely produced only anecdotal evidence. 

To be able to give informed data, we do need a definition and the total honey harvested during a year divided by the number of hives put to winter the previous year does seem unequivocal and the most useful. It takes into account winter losses. Could BEE-L not adopt that? 

The problem that some hives are split to produce nucs could be catered for by adopting a second standard measure, the average total wholesale value of all products from the hives in the  previous autumn count,  including honey, pollination fees, nucs, queens, beeswax in blocks and pollen and propolis if significant. The value added by direct sales to the customer - or making wax into candles - should not be included as marketing is a separate optional activity not part of beekeeping itself, even if small scale beekeepers often rely on adding value in such ways. 

The third useful measure for the information of beginners would be total costs divided again by autumn hive count , plus a note of the total autumn hive count - which would indicate how overall profitability depends on scale of operation as well as beekeeping competence ( classing the hobbyist with 5 hives as running a business).