Reply To:
Discussion of Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 3 Jun 1996 23:12:12 GMT
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (42 lines)
At 02:09 AM 6/3/96 +0000, you wrote:                                            
>I am new to bee keeping and have a ranch with a fair amount of red             
>clover in my pastures plus white clover.  I have herd conflicting              
>information on pollination of red clover by honey bees.  Can someone give      
>me the straight scoop wether honey bees pollinate and obtain nector from       
>red clover?  One says they get nector and pollinate only the                   
>later flowers in summer.  Or is it they only pollinate and not get             
>nector?  Thanks  Robert Cessac                                                 
>                                                                               
>K-B Ranch                                                                      
>Natural Beef                                                                   
>                                                                               
>2362 St. Rt. O                                                                 
>Higbee, MO. 65257                                                              
>816-248-5201                                                                   
>                                                                               
>[log in to unmask]                                                 
>                                                                               
When I was growing up in East Texas in the early 50s, we had red or crimson     
clover mixed in with the grasses in our hay fields.  We kept 8 to 10            
colonies of bees in gums and got a good honey crop from them.  There was no     
other types of clover anywhere around.  Our bees didn't know that they