Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 27 Dec 2016 23:09:49 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (53 lines)
I'm holding off until I see some independent data regarding the claims of: a) 'no effect' on the colony, but b) it 'kills'  mites.  There are lots of sounds in a beehive.  We've been working with deciphering hive sounds for more than 10 years and we hope to finally bring our technology to market in 2017.   Bees produce sounds from below 200 HZ to far into the true ultra-sound range (well above 20,000 HZ). 

I agree with Randy, us old folks usually can't hear the higher audible frequencies of 12k-20k Hz, but I could hear them as a kid and all through college - I used to build and sell high-end audio systems, and I studied insect sounds as part of  my Ph.D. research.  

Most audio (stereo, home theater) systems aim to reach at least 12 kHZ, even the cheapest ones.   Even some of us old timers can usually still hear up to 12-15 kHz.  The human voice produces sounds up to 14 kHZ.

Young ears that can still hear the 15-20 kHZ frequencies may notice the difference btw a good and a cheap sound system due to the audio fall-off at the higher frequencies that is often typical of low end recorders, many audio compression programs,  and low cost speakers.  But then again, youngsters are often more interested in feeling bass than hearing the full sound spectrum in music, so only the true audiophile is likely to care.  

As per bees and mites, I do know that colony sounds reflect colony status relative to pests (such as specific sounds produced when mites are present), diseases, and exposure to pesticides.  Whether bees use these sounds as a form of communication within the hive is still an open question.  If they do communicate via sound, then we may want to be careful about introducing noise pollution into the hive at 90 db.