Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 30 Jul 2018 23:45:00 +0000
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (23 lines)
As the citation Pete gave to the Pettis article does not work in search engines here is an internet link:

http://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0147220

In the abstract Pettis says "Clearly low sperm viability is linked to colony performance and laboratory and field data provide evidence that temperature extremes are a potential causative factor."

When you look at the actual data many queens labeled as failing had sperm viability numbers very close to or even better than queens labeled good.  So, Pettis is correct, low sperm viability is LINKED to performance.  There is no way this paper proves low viability CAUSES poor performance.

I have limited experience with queens.  I have only grafted a few hundred and raised maybe 20 by splits.  I have only dealt with about 25 purchased queens two of which were II so really do not even count.  I have never raised queens from the ever popular swarm cells as I see no rational reason at all to selectively breed for more swarming which is what you are doing every time you use a swarm cell to make a new queen.  All in all really small numbers.