Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 21 Sep 2016 10:53:27 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (36 lines)
I have been carefully pondering how to put this tighter,  its probably still a bit disjointed, as it’s a complicated issue,  and  I need to get it out and clear my head.

First,  to Professor Bromenshenks  point on chickens,  yes they love them and will help clean up messes,  but they are no prevention.  First  chickens wont normally pick bugs off a beehive.  Discretion being the order of the day.   Most beetle activity is after chicken bedtime.  Larva move right after dark.  Some will scratch larva but not too close to a hive where most land.  Just for numbers  I have about 75 hives and 60 to 100 free range chickens.   Beetles are a huge problem in the home yard. (my fault)

Now to beetle issues.  I have been fighting them for about 3 years.  Pretty aggressively this year.  While some here would disagree,  we should keep in mind beekeeping is local.   Depending on climate and soil conditions they can run from no big deal,  to a nightmare. Guys like Randy out in CA will never have the issue we have here in my yards.  The reason is actually simple.   Beetle Larva need wet damp soil to pupate.  Really dry sandy areas have less issues then damp soils with lots of moisture.  While I am here discussing soil lets tackle that thought completely.   You hear a lot of "experts" say full sun and strong hives  and beetles are not an issue.  Well those people need to sit down and be quiet.  Its not completely true for everyone.   Soil type and moisture content is really the key to the level of your problems.   In my area you can time the surge in beetles to summer rains.  If we go 2-3 weeks without rain in June/July,  you can count on a huge spike of numbers 2-3 days after a good rain.