Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sat, 10 Sep 2016 16:12:50 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (22 lines)
OK Michael since you asked and glad to see others chiming in. First a disclaimer. I am not a scientist or a chemist. I'm a guy with a high school education trying hard to keep my small honey producing operation healthy and profitable, been at it for 40 years. I have been using liquid formic, without incident, since learning about it at the Simon Fraser Univ. Bee-master Course in 98. 

Safety tips! Formic vapor is heavier than air so always keep the product and pads below you at ground level. I wear heavy rubber gloves and a 3M 8577 Nuisance level organic vapor mask. They are comfortable in the vale and don't interfere with the reading glasses I now need to see eggs and larva. I get no hint of formic fumes with these. I stack the pads in alternating directions, holes down, layers of 2, in a 2 gallon bucket with tight lid and add 25ml of 65% formic each pad. So a typical application for me of 20 colonies would be 40 pads and 1,000 ml of acid. I do this the night before application and to ensure even saturation I invert the bucket the next morning for a couple of hours. The pads come out evenly wet but far from dripping and the alternating layers are easy to pick up with the needle-nose pliers I handle them with.