Reply To:
Discussion of Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 3 Jun 1996 16:45:09 EDT
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (121 lines)
        I'm a beginner and I got a call about a swarm. I live in eastern        
Massachusetts. I got the swarm, in a manner of speaking, and have hived it,     
but have a number of 'beginner' questions.                                      

First a recap of what was done. Please comment on any corrections       
regarding technique. It was a comedy of minor errors I expect, with more to     
follow but I'm having the time of my life!                                      

I arrived at about 10 am. with a cardboard box (no extra hive           
available), a bed sheet, my outfit and tools that I store/carry in a 6          
gallon galvanized "trash" can that has a handle and top. Poorly equipped to     
say the least.                                                                  

The swarm was about 20 feet up in a large spuce tree. My estimate       
is about 6-8 pounds of bees. The homeowners had a extension pruning pole,       
(what a break!). I was curious and excited, never having seen a swarm           
before, and wanting to give it a go, though I was not fully prepared. Later     
upon inspecting he bulk of the bees looked to be Italians with some darker      
bees mixed in.                                                                  

I decided to use the pole with the can attached and a pillow case       
in the can. I pruned some little branches to get a clear shot at the bees.      
I hoisted the can up under the swarn and gave it a good trust upward. 60%       
if the bees went into the pillowcase and 10% fell down around me. The rest      
were still attached to the branch or in the air.                                

I tied off the pillow case and place in in my car. I waited for the     
bees to reform, got another pillow case and did the whole operation again.