Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 16 Oct 2001 20:34:49 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (19 lines)
A few words of warning about cup feeding.

When I worked as a lactation consultant in a "very resistant" unit, I frequently saw the negative side effects of cup feeding. When I first began working on this unit, many nursing infants were frequently supplemented with cup feedings. This was a unit that had originally engaged in a high degree of unnecessary supplementation and the cup was simply being used as a replacement for the formerly adored bottle. 

Consequently, I had abundant opportunities to observe behaviors that followed incidences of cup feeding.  Many of these infants did not approach the breast in a manner that facilitated latching or suckling.  For example, after many of these infants cued to nurse they did not demonstrate appropriate nursing initiation behaviors. Instead after they were placed proximal to the breast, they sat idly while their mouths were only slightly opened. They made only minimal movements with their tongues and they seemed to wait for their mother's breastmilk to pour into their mouths. Naturally, many of these infants became very frustrated, as did their mothers. The maternal breast became a withholding rather than a giving object for them because they had learned that there is another, apparently more efficient, way to gain comfort (i.e. nourishment, relief from thirst, relief from discomfort).