Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 16 Feb 2003 11:39:06 -0600
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (32 lines)
Hi Lactnetters
My name is Jessica and I am a nursing student and cross country runner at the University of North Dakota. I have an interest in infant acceptance of postexercise milk. I have done some research on the topic and here are some of the studies and journal articles that caught my attention. 
One study demonstrated that moderate aerobic exercise done four to six times a week beginning at six to eight weeks post partum had no adverse affect on lactation and improved the mothers’ cardiovascular fitness. It also noted that the mothers in the exercise group did not mention any difficulties in nursing after exercise. (Dewey, 1994, p 449-453)
Another study had similar results. In this study the researchers studied the milk of 24 women 2 to 4 months postpartum. Each woman expressed her breast milk one hour before and one-hour after completing a maximal oxygen uptake test (very vigorous exercise), 30 minutes of moderate exercise, and a resting control session. The mothers then bottle-fed their infants the expressed breast milk and rated the infant’s acceptance. The feedings were videotaped for review and scoring by a lactation consultation. All breast milk samples were evaluated for levels of lactic acid. Maximal oxygen uptake test doubled the levels of lactic acid. Yet there was no differences in the acceptance of the breast milk by the infants. Researchers concluded that moderate or even high-intensity exercise during lactation does not impede infant acceptance of breast milk consumed one hour postexercise. (Wright, 2002, p 585-589)