Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 17 Dec 2006 11:39:31 -0800
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (34 lines)
I am a newbie IBCLC.  Today at work I had my first "What the *#@$!" moment.

A G2P2 mom with a 3day old fullterm, healthy infant was told to stop BFing for 48-72 hours and formula feed until follow up with doc on Tuesday for a bili check.  Mom and infant are being discharged today.  No other "therapy" for Jaundice was prescribed.

The bilirubin level was 6.3 on day 3(this am).  The only risk factor for Jaundice is ABO incompatibility, infant was Coombs positive. This infant was born via C-section post Fetal Distress during labor, CANx1.  On day 2 bili level was 5.1.

Now, I stayed out of the recent discussions regarding our Professional guidelines as far as supporting primary caregiver's etc.  But, I couldn't ethically go into that mom's room, set her up with a pump and not give her any inkling that I disagreed with that MD's recommendation.  To be honest, mom and I had already discussed supplementing, she already has Harmony hand pump that I gave her yesterday and was to be pumping post feeds to stimulate increased supply.  I do not necessarily disagree with the MD recommending supplementing(they all do when Jaundice is a factor), its the complete forbidding of BFing that's got me perplexed.